“Clitical Thinking”

Being apart of an all women’s college you get away with a lot of things. One of them is organizing an interdisciplinary event surrounding women’s health. The biology, art, public health, and women studies departments at Agnes Scott are collaborating to bring Sophia Wallace to campus. Her art and activism work involve topics such as gender, sex, and identity. She has also done a lot of work surrounding the clitoris. It’s quite interesting that there has been more articles written about fingernails than their has been about the newly discovered female sex organ. I think it is only right to express and spread this information at Agnes. Though she will be featured as a Leader story, she will also have some of her pieces exhibited at the Dalton Gallery located here at Agnes. Leah, the gallery manager, was kind and brave enough to present more about the behind the scene work in organizing an exhibition. There are a lot of things to consider when curating an exhibit: budget, manual labor, finding funds, floor plans, advertisement, etc. Leah opened my eyes to better understand what this class is all about and having experience with planning events makes me really excited to take on this new challenge.

Teamwork makes dream work. Something that I noticed and that was talked about during the presentation was recognizing individual’s strengths and weaknesses. I definitely want to build on my strengths and with the helps of my peers; I hope to learn from them to create a great show. I know I have a lot to learn from this class and I am excited to get out of my comfort zone and build on what I know. Hands on learning can be tricky, however, the benefits of the lessons learned and the experiences gathered make it easier for people like me to see past the class and see where I can apply what I learned to the real world. In the end, that’s what college is all about, right?

Learning from the past. Something that I appreciated was seeing the catalogs from the past showing thinking exhibits. These catalogs have process statements from those individuals who have participated in the show. Three individuals who stuck out to me the most were Donna Sadler (Professor of Art History), Gundolf Graml (Assistant Professor of German), and Rafael Ocasio (Professor of Spanish). These three individuals, though shown in different years, have process statements that not only give the reader a glimpse of what they do but also give an insight on who they are as a person. Professor Sadler is very anecdotal. She has a way of immersing you in her presentations and depicted that very well in her statement. I do have a preference of statements that have anecdotes versus the more scholarly approach. Professor Graml and professor Ocasio intrigued me because their content talked a lot about being an outsider. As a first generation student, I can identify a lot with this. This exploration of insider versus outsider not only motivates my artwork but also my exploration in diversifying the psychological field. Though these professors come from different backgrounds, their thinking process can be generalized and students can find solace in realizing that their mentors and models might have a similar thinking process. This show humanizes thinking and the more we explore the exhibition process, the more I understand the benefits of exposing all students to these types of shows.

Leave a Reply

